The Consequences of a Driving While Intoxicated or DWI Charge
Car accidents happen at an alarming frequency in America. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration or NHTSA, one of the leading causes for these accidents is alcohol-impaired driving. This offense is typically called driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence. In the State of New York, alcohol-impaired driving is charged as driving while intoxicated or DWI. It is considered a serious violation that could lead to grave consequences.
All over the country, the blood alcohol concentration or BAC limit is at 0.08 percent for private vehicles. For drivers operating commercial vehicles, the BAC limit is at 0.04 percent. For drivers under the legal drinking age of 21, a zero tolerance policy is observed in most states across the United States. Anyone caught out on the road exceeding these limits can face steep penalties.
According to the website of Law Offices of Richard A. Portale, P.C., consequences for a DWI charge in the State of New York will depend on previous records and the specific circumstances of one’s arrests. Regardless of the facts, one can expect to face costly fines, some jail time, and a suspension or revocation of one’s driving privileges. At first offense, a DWI charge can lead to a fine of $500 to $1,000, up to 1 year in jail, and a 6-month minimum license suspension. At second offense, a DWI can lead to $1,000 to $5,000 in fines, up to 4 years of jail time, and a 1-year minimum license suspension. The court could also require an Ignition Interlock Device be installed in one’s vehicle.
Penalties become steeper at third and subsequent offenses. If convicted, an individual with a DWI charge can face an overwhelming $2,000 to $10,000 in fines, up to 7 years in jail, at least a year-long license suspension, and the installation of an Ignition Interlock Device in one’s vehicle.